If Only…


Beautiful One…
If only I had known,
that last time,
would really be the last,
I’d have held on a little longer…
Been more resilient…
Defied you just a little in my mind…
asked for more torrid rains to bide time,
told you how hard you’ve been to find.
Beautiful One…
If only I had shown you,
All the ways in which I wish you were mine.
Beautiful One…
You are more than just those eyes…
You are my magic,
And my moonlight,
In these starless skies.
You are breathtaking…
And I am overwhelmed
 just looking…
Groveling in my cloud-castles,
I am breathless…
every waking-sleeping moment,
a picture memory I wish I could forget…
Beautiful One…
Can’t you stay with me tonight?
like Mariah says:
“Don’t my kisses please you right…?”
I have stories of another lifetime,
with you and I,
like we should’ve been…
like we could’ve been
In strawberry-kissed yellow fields…
The air sweet with the scent of Passion-Vine…
Ah! That violet paints my dreams!
Where I’d want nothing more,
Than for the sun,
And a soft breeze…
Carrying all my smiles,
And the flawed hopes I’ve built for you and I.
But tonight luv,
And maybe for the rest of all my nights,
They lay buried
Under the heavy weight
Of the things I wish I could tell you…
Things that could’ve have made you mine…
But keeper of their secrets I must be…
Promises that were made, I must keep…
As I will my self to walk that line,
I hear the winds cry for you and I…

 

Leave a Reply

