Stay…


Stay…

Because I still have more to say…

Stay…

So I can sing you my heart song…

These are yours,

Only yours,

Always yours.

Stay…

Because maybe,

Just maybe,

My memories need more than just to remember,

the way your fingers felt against my eager hands…

Grasping; watching;

As they moved,

In a way that only goodbyes can.

Stay…

So I don’t need to whisper into the night,

All my secrets,

All my stories,

All my lifetimes…

See the night sky tires

from my tales.

Stay;

Love me now,

As you did before.

Stay;

Before the wind is weary,

From carrying my quiet tears,

Over moons, and rains we had once danced under.

Stay;

Because I need more to wake me up on cold nights,

Than memories of that last time you talked…

Stay;

So I can remember,

The sounds and songs our love made…

So I can color my minds’ pages,

With the freshness that is your skin…

Soft;

Strong;

Mine…

Always mine…

Stay;

Because I need to forget,

The way you gritted your teeth,

Ever so slightly,

As you whispered a startling goodbye,

I remember,

How it jolted me off the half-moons of my slumber…

Stay…

So I can feel alive for just a little longer,

Stay…

So I don’t need to imagine,

The ways in which you held me…

Those were times

When I felt the world was safe again…

Just then,

When I knew,

From the ways in which you moved me,

That this love will never feel the same,

Not without you,

Not without me.

So stay;

Stay for these nights and mornings,

Stay…

Because I need lifetimes,

This one,

And the next one…

And more…

Stay…

So I can forget,

Every labored breathe I’ve taken since the day you left…

Stay…

Stay…

So I can show you,

Dark skies can be blue too,

Stay,

So I can tell you,

How your eyes…

They’ve reached places no one else has seen…

Stay…

So you can reach

all those places that you still haven’t been,

Stay…

So I don’t need to playback memories,

Of the last time you were eager…

that language needing no words…

Just you, just me…

Stay;

So I can have another day,

Without walls,

So many walls…

Too many walls…

Stay;

Stay…

I promise

I’ll leave my eyes open,

And I’ll soak it all in this moment…

Stay;

So my eyes don’t need to find,

New ways to ask again.

Stay,

Just stay…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

